Sunday Post: Time to De-stress #relax #happyplace #DeepCreek

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post

After a long work week followed by 57 straight hours of watching three grandkids (ages 3, 3, and 7), I headed straight to the salon after I dropped the kids off yesterday. About an hour of getting a long-overdue pedicure really helped me destress. I really need to remember that pampering myself a little goes a long way the rest of the week.

Along the lines of de-stressing, here are some photos of my “happy place,” the place I go to in my mind when I can’t go in person–Deep Creek, part of the Smoky Mountain National Park. Although part of the park, Deep Creek is not inside the park itself, but located in Bryson City, NC.

LAST WEEK ON BONNIE READS AND WRITES

Sunday I participated in The Sunday Post.

Monday I reviewed Jaguar Paloma and the Caketown Bar by Jess Wells

Thursday I reviewed Long Way Home by Lynn Austin.

Friday I participated in Friday 56 and Book Blogger Hop

And on Self-Published Saturday I reviewed My Alien Life by J. Martain.

NEXT WEEK ON BONNIE READS AND WRITES

Today (Sunday) I’m reviewing Childhood Sweethearts by Wendy Clarke as part of a blog tour for Bookouture.

Monday I will review the Audiobook of A Bookshop Christmas by Rachel Burton

Tuesday I will participate in Top Ten Tuesday if time permits

Wednesday I will review Secrets by Fern Michaels

Friday I will post a review of The Duchess of Idaho that I did for the August edition of Historical Novels Review, the magazine of The Historical Novel Society. I will also participate in Friday 56 and Book Blogger Hop if time permits.

On Self-Published Saturday I will review/spotlight self-published books.

BOOK HAUL LAST WEEK

I really need to quit requesting books for a while, but it is addictive!

At my daughter Mabel’s sixth birthday party, there’s a cake with candles, sausages on the barbecue, and the sound of her friends’ excited voices as we open her gifts. But at the end of the day, I hug my daughter tightly, drop a kiss into her shiny brown hair… and leave her with my ex-husband, who won’t even meet my eyes.

After our divorce, Matthew and I wanted to do the best thing for Mabel. We agreed to share the family home, despite living separate lives. Now one of us stays with her, and one of us stays at the apartment across town.

The night of the party, I fall asleep on the sofa, tired and a little sad. When I wake up and stumble into my bedroom, I know immediately something is wrong.

There’s a body in my bed. A man I dated. In an apartment where only Matthew and I have the key.

Would Matthew go this far to be rid of me? I thought I could trust him… but now I can’t be sure.

Or has someone learned the terrible secret that both tore us apart, and tied us together forever?

An absolutely gripping thriller that will keep you reading late into the night, unable to put the book down for a second. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Ruth Ware and Lisa Jewell.

Audiobook

Life changes once again for British spy Miss Mary Bennet when Napoleon Bonaparte escapes from the Isle of Elba. Mary quickly departs England for Brussels, the city where the Allied forces prepare for war against the French. But shortly after her arrival, one of the Duke of Wellington’s best officers is murdered, an event that threatens to break the delicate alliance between the Allies.

Investigating the murder forces Mary into precarious levels of espionage, role-playing, and deception with her new partner, Mr. Withrow—the nephew and heir of her prominent sponsor and the spy with whom she’s often at odds. Together, they court danger and discovery as they play dual roles in gathering intelligence for the British. But soon Mary realizes that her growing feelings toward Mr. Withrow put her heart in as much danger as her life. And then there’s another murder.

Mary will need to unmask the murderer before more people are killed, but can she do so and remain hidden in the background?

Have a relaxing week, everyone!

30 thoughts on “Sunday Post: Time to De-stress #relax #happyplace #DeepCreek”

  1. Beautiful pics of Deep Creek, Bonnie! What a great place to escape to, even mentally. Glad you survived the grandkids…so much fun, I bet, but exhausting! lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad you got some precious and much deserved “me” time. What an absolutely gorgeous place to visit both in your head and in person – those photos are stunning.
    I need to stop requesting arcs but I’m getting close to my 100 badge on Netgalley so I’m finding it even harder to resist, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ergh I struggle with my one 4 year old!!! He is just constantly on the go and obviously is interested in everything!

    Your happy place looks wonderful from the pictures.

    The books look good. I struggle not to request books all the time!

    Have a great week ahead!

    Emily @ Budget Tales Book Blog
    My post:

    Sunday Post

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Those photos are so beautiful! I’d love to go there. It looks so relaxing.

    The Family Home sounds great. I’ll have to check that one out. I hope you have a great week!

    Like

  5. What a beautiful place! I can see why you go there in person or in your mind. 😀 I’m glad you got to pamper yourself a little this week. That definitely does help you destress, doesn’t it? I hope you have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. That does indeed look like a happy place. Beautiful. something about rivers in the woods. and wow that IS a long week!!

    The Family Home sounds like a great thriller!

    Like

  7. Those pictures are gorgeous 😍. Sounds like you had quite a busy week and weekend. So glad you had time with the grandkids but hope you get to relax some this week.

    Like

  8. Ahhh that Deep Creek area is beautiful! I want to jump in that water!

    I remember babysitting for a family that had twins that were 4 (plus a 7, 6, 2, and new baby!) and just a few hours was exhausting. Everyone fighting over who gets to sit on your lap, or if you do one fun trick with a kid then it’s “Me next!!! Me next!!!!” Hahahahaha. So much fun!

    So yah, your pedicure was well deserved after 57 hours. Probably earned a massage, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. You deserved that pedicure, Bonnie! 🙂 Good for you for pampering yourself. The photos of Deep Creek are stunning. Now wonder it’s your happy place. I hope you have a wonderful week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s