Indie Weekend: Awaken by Lauren Wagner #YA #Fantasy #Adventure @lolowags @cinnabarmothpub

Indie Weekend is my effort to help Indie authors promote their books. Indie authors have a lot on their plate, and if I can help even a little bit with marketing, I’m happy to do it. Below is a review of an archaeological adventure/fantasy reminiscent in a way of Indiana Jones.

BOOK DESCRIPTON (FROM AMAZON)

Natalia has embraced the choice of her people. She is honored to have been chosen as their human sacrifice and will surrender her life to the Gods. She awaits the call of her people for that final moment, living a life of solitude until it’s time. But then her death is stolen from her – she is kidnapped by her own guards and forced into an eternal slumber.

Hundreds of years later – now – Natalia is woken in a world that’s completely unfamiliar. The archeological team was not looking for her. They were looking for Estancia, the lost city of gold, and Natalia agrees to guide them.

While they journey through the treacherous jungles of Argentina, Natalia stumbles upon the alarming truth of her past. Her life’s prophecy must be fulfilled to restore balance to her people, but only she can decide whether that balance is worth her death.

BOOK REVIEW

Natalia is the chosen one of her people. She has been prepared to die as a sacrifice and is very willing to do so. Then she is kidnapped and forced into an unwanted slumber by an evil dragon. Hundreds of years pass, and in the present, Natalia is awoken by Quinn. Imagine being part of an archaelogical dig and your treasure comes alive! Before long, Natalia leads her finders on a quest for the lost city of gold, but she is really only interested in saving her people.

I enjoyed the changing points of view. Natalia’s point of view is in first person, and Quinn’s is in third person. The two points of view work together well and are not confusing. The character development is excellent and the description of the dragon is so intriguing. This is a thrilling archaelogical adventure through the jungles of Argentina. It is full of action and surprises and will keep you enthralled. Highly recommended for fans of YA Fantasy and Adventure.

I received a free copy of this book from Cinnabar Moth publishing. My review is voluntary and the opinions expressed are my own.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Lauren Wagner’s love for reading started as a young adult after discovering her town’s public library.  After carrying out piles of books at a time, and re-reading them over and over again, she discovered her love for writing. She writes fantasy and science fiction as well as post-it notes about her future stories. Awaken is her debut novel.

She grew up in the western suburbs of Chicago where she presently resides with her husband and two children. She currently teaches upper elementary students to love and obsess over written works of art.

Visit her on Twitter (@LoloWags)! 

PURCHASE LINKS

AMAZON | AMAZON UK

BEFORE YOU GO

*If you buy the book, please leave reviews on Amazon and Goodreads, as well as anywhere else you review books.  Some people feel very daunted by writing a review. Don’t worry. You do not have to write a masterpiece. Just a couple of lines about how the book made you feel will make the author’s day and help the book succeed. The more reviews a book has, the more Amazon will promote it.

*Please click on the “share” buttons below and share these books with your Twitter, Facebook, and WordPress followers. A little bit of help from all of us will help self-published authors go a long way!

5 thoughts on “Indie Weekend: Awaken by Lauren Wagner #YA #Fantasy #Adventure @lolowags @cinnabarmothpub”

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s